History of the Location

Colonel Light described the location as “an extensive valley of rich soil, with a beautiful fresh stream, an abundance of wood and a little cove fit to moor a vessel of 70 to 90 tons.”

Steeped in history

The indigenous inhabitants would have enjoyed this appealing location over various periods of the evolution of this dramatic and abundant landscape. Several tribes were known to wander the area over many centuries, including the Ramindjeri and Karna clans..

Then, from the 1830’s, this area received glowing reports from early white explorers.

After Colonel William Light landed south of here from ‘The Rapid’, thus naming Rapid Bay, he travelled by ship’s gig next to ’the Second Valley’, on 8th September 1836.

Colonel Light described the location as “an extensive valley of rich soil, with a beautiful fresh stream, an abundance of wood and a little cove fit to moor a vessel of 70 to 90 tons.”

When the first settlers built cottages and the mill from the 1840’s here in the Randalsea Village area, the village was the centre of the productive community which was engaged mainly in agriculture.

The first family to own this property, initially known as ‘Poplar House’, was that of Alexander Florence, who migrated from Aberdeen, Scotland. The dramatic history of his family here, where 16 children were raised and much hardship occurred, is somewhat typical of rural families whilst the new Colony was being established.

By the 1950’s “The Cottages” weren’t occupied and the roofing was removed leaving only bare walls standing – perhaps because the building then didn’t attract rates.

 

Both Leonard’s Mill and The Cottages were in disrepair until 1984, when David Grieve, architect and builder, with a Consortium, undertook restoration work, built a row of Motel / Chalets and arranged ‘The Mill Cottages’ for tourist accommodation.
The restoration work then resulted in presentation of the National Award for Best Heritage Restoration.

Leonard’s Mill, the Causeway and the Second Valley Cliffs are heritage listed.

There are 15 historic buildings comprising the ‘Randalsea Historic Conservation Zone’ as recognized by the Yankalilla Council.  These ‘Second Valley Settler Cottages’ are included.

The first title, to Alexander Florence, listing him as ‘Stableman, Macclesfield’, is dated 9th September 1852 i.e. only 15 years after Proclamation of the new state of South Australia.

In 2013, this ‘7894 Main South Road’ complex was converted to a Community Title arrangement.

These Cottages were purchased on 18th December, 2013 by ‘Musketeer Pty Ltd’ as the first new owner and custodian under that scheme, for the Messenger family.

Our Heritage

We believe that Australia's heritage, such as you can experience at Second Valley Settler Cottages deserves to be preserved, enjoyed and appreciated. Come to Second Valley and experience the wonders of the Fleurieu Peninsula and beyond.

Book Online


Contact Us

Phone: Lee 0439 313 020

Email: [email protected]